Autoreset option in case of not connection with the mqtt broker

Hello,
this is my first post and sorry if I’m doing something wrong! I just want to suggest a new feature and I created a PR (https://github.com/1technophile/OpenMQTTGateway/pull/746) in order to improve the management of config reset. The autoreset in case of missing connection with the mqtt broker.

Below my case:
I wrongly added a good wifi configuration but I missed real ip for the mqtt broker.
So the OMG started to log message that something doesn’t work and notified me to push TRIGGER_GPIO… but I haven’t configured it (ESP32). In the meantime, I have tried with arduino ide to reset the config, but I couldn’t (I am not an expert in arduino ide). As bottom line I discovered the code and I forced the erase without hardware interrupt.

Basically, I saw that there is already a connection failure management in the code, I extended it by adding a new flag that allows autoreset if configured. I thought of putting it in good shape and proposing it as a feature.

Tell me what you think about it, all comment are welcome.

Hello and welcome,

Thanks for the PR,
for info this functionality was available before v0.9.4 :slight_smile:
And enabled by default.

But it generated a lot of unwanted reset for the users, for example in case of an electricity shut down the gateway restart, doesn’t find the broker and erase the credentials…

So I removed it, and now I have far less complains of reboot and user having to enter their credentials again.

If we go to your need, you would like to have an easy way to erase the credentials when entered wrongly isn’t it?

:face_with_hand_over_mouth: Ok I was late with the feature! sorry for that but I have just start to use the current release of OMG and when I was in trouble I moved on develop with my customization.