I'm new to this and almost there - just a bit of help needed with BM2 battery monitoring

I have OpenMQTTGateway running on an ESP32 and it’s successfully publishing discovered BT devices to my MQTT broker, as seen in MQTT Explorer.

My aim is to use a BM2 battery monitor on our cars.

I’ve tried to white list my initial BM2 device but other devices keep showing up. I’m seeing this from my retained config publish:

Secondly, when I see messages from the BM2 they vary, and only occasionally do I see the battery voltage.

The three message variants I see are:

{"model":"BM2 Battery Monitor",
"id":"50:54:7B:5D:A4:40",
"volt":12.95
}

{"id":"50:54:7B:5D:A4:40",
"name":"Battery Monitor",
"rssi":-63,"txpower":0,
"brand":"GENERIC",
"model":"BM2 Battery Monitor",
"model_id":"BM2",
"type":"BATT",
"batt":100,
"device":"BM2 Tracker"
}

{"id":"50:54:7B:5D:A4:40",
"name":"Battery Monitor",
"rssi":-58,
"txpower":0
}

Only the first one has battery voltage. There doesn’t seem to be any consistency.

Where am I going wrong?

Welcome @ashs

You seem to have a very unusual topic structure, and it does look like you did not include the commands sub-topic part when sending the white-list, and for commands it also needs to be MQTTtoBT, so it appears that it is not actually doing anything on the gateway, hence you also see other devices.

It would be good to see the whole expanded left structure of your gateway in MQTT Explorer, to see exactly what is going on there.

There is …
• The voltage only shows when a connection is made to the BM2, defined by intervalcnct. You don’t really want to set that too frequently, as connections actually take a toll on the battery itself, but a bit more frequent, depending on your needs, is fine :wink:
• The battery level with model and model_id is being received and decoded with every interval and the BM2 actually broadcasting decodable data then