KaKu(433 mhz) light-switch via NodeMCU no inbound signal

Hello,

I’m new to OMG and MQTT, and looking for some help.

My goal is to switch on/off my KaKu (“klikaanklikuit”) lights. I have Domoticz running on a Rpi (mostly with z-wave) devices.

I bought the following hardware:
-NodeMCUv3
-SRX882/STX882

As a docker container I installed mosquitto https://hub.docker.com/_/eclipse-mosquitto on my proxmox host.

I flashed the NodeMCU with this .bin file:
nodemcuv2-rf2-firmware.bin —> https://github.com/1technophile/OpenMQTTGateway/releases/download/v0.9.5/nodemcuv2-rf2-firmware.bin

• Is that correct? I see a lot of files and a’m not sure if I have the right one.

I also installed MQTT-explorer on my windows machine. When I connect to mosquitto I see the OpenMQTTGateway but no data inbound when I press a button on the KiKa-remote.

• How can I troubleshoot the mosquitto - NodeMCU connection?

• I read about changing the config_RF.h, but how/where? I guess it is on the NodeMCU, but I only have a .bin file.

“If the gateway works only when serial monitor is connected don’t use D3 use D2 instead (gpio 4) and modify config_RF.h accordingly.”

• What is a serial monitor?

I hope somebody can help me.

Robin

Hello,

Yes for KAKU, this is the right one.

You may connect a serial monitor to the NodeMCU, as a first step you can do it with Arduino IDE

With Arduino IDE, if you follow the instructions you will be able to modify the files.

A serial monitor enables to read or write serial data, OMG produce serial data for debugging purposes. With a serial monitor provided by the Arduino IDE, PlatformIO or Putty you will be able to diagnose issues with your setup.

Thanks for your reply. It was very helpful.
I can now change the configuration in config_RF.h (and User_config.h)

In the serial monitor I can see the uptime messages, but nothing incomming when I press the KaKu remote.
There are multiple posts about problems with the SRX882 on this forum.