M5Stack first installation of OMG, how to?

Hello all!
I am completely new to OMG, but not new to smart home automation and have worked with HASS and MQTT before.

I have a brand new M5Stack Core basic and after looking around in the docs, Github and here, but I have not found a description how to easily put OMG on M5Stack Basic. I am not saying that there is no such description, I am just saying I did not find it. I am not complaining, I just would be happy to get pointers to the right documents and articles.

I do not have any IDE installed, also nothing for Arduino.

What is the easiest way do go? Do I need to flash it vie USB serial or could I just put an image on the SD card?

Also articles on integration OMG on M5Stack into HASS would be helpful, maybe there are some useful templates? Or does it support auto discovery?

All help appreciated!
Keep happy and safe!

Hello,

The easiest way is to flash the pre built binaries to the M5Stack by following this tutorial (USB):

Also articles on integration OMG on M5Stack into HASS would be helpful, maybe there are some useful templates? Or does it support auto discovery?

It supports auto discovery by default for BLE devices and the gateway itself, so the devices qnd the gateway are automatically created (when seen for the first time) into Configuration->Devices with the corresponding entities, here is a gif of v0.9.6beta
OpenMQTTGateway add sensor

Oh, yeah, I saw that description and it doesn’t work for me as I have no windows machine at all, not even a VM. Is there no way to do it on real operating system :slight_smile: ?

Can it be done using the Arduino IDE? I installed that.

You can use ESPTOOL instead of ESP32 download tool:

Follow the first part of the tutorial below (until Download the boot_app0 from here):

And instead of using ESP32 download tool, install and use ESPTOOL.

esptool.py erase_flash