M5Stack AtomS3U ESP32S3 Firmware support

Hey,

I am wondering if there is OMG firmware that will support the M5Stack AtomS3U ESP32S3?

I have tried with this existing firmware “esp32s3-dev-c1-ble” and some of the other M5stack firmware, but it keeps failing during the initialize step.

Thank you.

Not for now, but could be added through a pull request.

Thanks it would be great if it could be added to OMG.
It does work with Tasmota however I don’t think that Tasmota supports Whitelist of bluetooth devices.

Are you willing to test a potential implementation?

Yes. I would be happy to help with testing.

Hi @1technophile
Wondering if an implementation of support for ESP32S3 boards is in the near future?

Thanks

Hello,

In progress here:

Do you have platformIO setup?

Great you are so awesome!

Yes, I have Platform IO.
All set ready to go.

1 Like

Feel free to try this PR in this case

Sorry I am new to Platform IO, how do I test this?

Download the branch and follow this tutorial:

You should see the board environment and be able to upload it

Thank you. The M5Stack AtomS3U is working well. Are there any tests you would like me to do?

I have a couple of questions:

1. I do not see how to control the LED on/off and adjust colour. Is this possible to do by MQTT command? How?
  2. The ESPS3U is rebooting automatically approx every 24 hours around 4:30 am. What might cause this?
1 Like

Thanks for the feedback

Features that are board related and that should be checked:

• trigger button, can you reset the board with a long press
  • RGB led, alternance between green and blue, blinking orange if no wifi or no mqtt

There are no special command to control the LED, if you want to disable it, you can comment the related definitions in the build.

The development branch has a watchdog that may trigger this reboot, you may test this branch also for stability sake:
https://github.com/1technophile/OpenMQTTGateway/tree/central-queue